Peter Petrov’s Weblog

var me = from practice in programming where practice.IsBestPractice && practice.UseLambda select practice.OptimalPerformance;

SQL Server 2008 – FILESTREAM feature is disabled. August 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — ppetrov @ 4:21 pm

Yesterday I have installed SQL Server 2008. I have downloaded the product samples from codeplex and I have tried to restore the Adventure Works 2008 Sample Database but I’ve this error :

System.Data.SqlClient.SqlError: FILESTREAM feature is disabled. (Microsoft.SqlServer.Smo)

OK the FILESTREAM is disabled but the question is how can I enable it ? The solution is very simple but it took me some time to find in on google. Here’s the link to the SQL Server 2008 Books Online on MSDN – How to: Enable FILESTREAM

Just fire SQL Server 2008 Management Studio and type

EXEC sp_configure filestream_access_level, 2
RECONFIGURE

I don’t know why Microsoft doesn’t provided this link as help. Instead of this they suggested m

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

System.Data.SqlClient.SqlError: FILESTREAM feature is disabled. (Microsoft.SqlServer.Smo)

For help, click: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink?ProdName=Microsoft+SQL+Server&ProdVer=10.0.1600.22+((SQL_PreRelease).080709-1414+)&LinkId=20476

which is useless.

The final result is that I have FILESTREAM enabled and I have my AdventureWorks 2008 database restored.

Now I can continue with my tests.

 

18 Responses to “SQL Server 2008 – FILESTREAM feature is disabled.”

  1. Ramesh Says:

    Go to SQL Server properties ->Advanced- enable the file stream access level, it should work now..

  2. ppetrov Says:

    I think I have tried this option but it didn’t work. I almost always try to configure applications using the provided tool but this time with no success. Soon I will create a new post about this.

  3. Manish Says:

    FILESTREAM is a new feature of SQL Server 2008 that supports BLOB file storage on NTFS file shares managed by SQL Server. The FILESTREAM feature is disabled during the default SQL Server 2008 installation.

    To enable FILESTREAM feature on SQL Server 2008:

    1. Open SQL Server Configuration Manager (Start > Programs > Microsoft SQL Server 2008 > Configuration Tools > SQL Server Configuration Manager)
    2. Navigate to the SQL Server Services node and select the SQL Server instance you want to modify SQL Server (MSSQLSERVER)
    3. Click the FILESTREAM tab and select the checkboxes to enable FILESTREAM and enter a share name for the files, as shown

  4. Dave Says:

    When I run the above command I get this message:
    Configuration option ‘filestream access level’ changed from 2 to 2. Run the RECONFIGURE statement to install.

    So then I erase the top line and just run the word “RECONFIGURE” and then execute the query. Is this correct? I am not sure what you mean by “Run the RECONFIGURE statement to install.

    I am still getting an error trying to install AdventureWorks2008 saying “FILESTREAM disabled. I swear I have enabled it. This error is driving me insane. I have been up for days scouring GOOGLE and cannot get rid of the error to install AdventureWorks 2008 DB’s. Thanks, Dave

  5. Pelican Says:

    just restart the SQL Server after you enabled FILESTREAM and do not need to pull your hair anymore :)

  6. Alex Says:

    Thanks, this post really saved me some time!. @Dave, try the steps posted by Manish, after first running “EXEC sp_configure filestream_access_level, 2 RECONFIGURE ” and than going to the configuration manager, everything worked okay.

  7. Dave Says:

    It is Fixed!! I have no idea why it did not work for the past six weeks????

    Here in a nutshell is what I did to get everything running again.

    1. Formatted Windows Server 2008 ( I think my Domain Controller, AD and DNS were not set up correct)

    2. Re-installed Server and set everything back up. Tested it by pinging etc…

    3. Rejoined the network with my newly created domain from my SQL Server 2008 PC to make sure it was talking to the server.

    4. Unistalled SQL 2008

    5. Re-Installed SQL 2008

    6. Enabled FILESTREAM on the tab by placing two checkmarks on the top
    restarted SQL Server

    7. Then I ran this query:

    EXEC sp_configure filestream_access_level;

    Even after placing two checkmarks to enable I still had a 0 for run_value

    8. So I ran this:

    EXEC sp_configure filestream_access_level, 2

    RECONFIGURE

    I got a message blah, blah, blah. at the end of the message it said “Now Run the “Reconfigure Statement”

    What is that??? I do not know what that is??

    So assuming this is the “Reconfigure Statement” I ran this again

    EXEC sp_configure filestream_access_level, 2

    Now I have a 2 all the way across.

    For some reason the past six weeks doing this over and over and restarting the server, SQL server and my PC, and FILESTREAM not enabling, I am sure there was something set up incorrect in my initial Server 2008 setup or my initial SQL 2008 setup.

    FILESTREAM is finally really enabled. I went to CodePlex and got the latest ADVENTUREWORKS2008 DB’s MSI package. It installed like a dream. Also Connected To my configuration database first try when setting up WSS 3.0

    In a nutshell FILESTREAM enabled, AdventureWorks 2008 db’s installed, and WSS 3.0 as a server farm set up and running again. All is well, until the next error I cannot figure out.

    Thanks,

    Dave

  8. Edu Pinho Says:

    Thanks, really! Saved me som time as well.

    Had to do all the steps though, as posted by manish and done by Alex

  9. natte Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this very useful informaiton I ,by chance, hit your blog while searching for the solution.
    Really appreciated :)

  10. Kwex Says:

    Thanks! I ran this script
    EXEC sp_configure filestream_access_level, 2
    RECONFIGURE
    and it worked for me.

  11. Theurge Says:

    Just fire up SQL Server Configuration Manager and enable filestream support in SQL Server Services->SQL Server(MSSQLSERVER)->Properties->FILESTREAM tab->check all options.

  12. satya Says:

    thanks a lot therge. it worked to me on windows7 profesional for 2008r2. THANKS A LOT TO OTHERS WHO R PROVIDING THIS INFORMATION

  13. http://dream-analysis.org Says:

    I gotta bookmark this website it seems very useful very helpful.

  14. ajako Says:

    Thanks a lot to everyone here, this helped me too.

  15. Yuriy Says:

    Thanks, it’s fast help.

  16. No├ęsio Says:

    Valeu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Manish Says:
    December 23, 2008 at 7:27 am
    FILESTREAM is a new feature of SQL Server 2008 that supports BLOB file storage on NTFS file shares managed by SQL Server. The FILESTREAM feature is disabled during the default SQL Server 2008 installation.

    To enable FILESTREAM feature on SQL Server 2008:

    1. Open SQL Server Configuration Manager (Start > Programs > Microsoft SQL Server 2008 > Configuration Tools > SQL Server Configuration Manager)
    2. Navigate to the SQL Server Services node and select the SQL Server instance you want to modify SQL Server (MSSQLSERVER)
    3. Click the FILESTREAM tab and select the checkboxes to enable FILESTREAM and enter a share name for the files, as shown


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.